Earning $1k and Beyond

My progress of Ramit Sethi's Earn1k Course

It’s Jessica’s Turn

Jessica – again like the other examples used a contact to get her first client. It so far appears that you need to network and have a warm lead in order to bait them and then you can use Earn1k techniques to land the sale, but this doesn’t cut it for me. I want to know how to land a first cold client. A brief summary about how warm leads are best to start with would help but Ramit never says you have to go through contacts first.

All the techniques are based on cold ones it appears–yet his examples use warm contacts. Jessica says there is always going to be a 9-5 job waiting for you. Wrong! Ask any student who graduated in the last 4 years how easy it is to get a job. It’s hard to get a job nowadays that pays even the simple bills sometimes. Not even McDonald’s would hire a mid-twenties person when they could hire a teen for less.  She lived at her brother’s house and only had $1200/month on expenses, which is $600 per person, I’m not willing to do that. I have my expenses cut as much as possible without going insane.

I did like how she said a lot of people said they needed her service but never hired her. This was a real problem a lot of freelancers have, as well as doing the work and people not paying. This made me like her the most out of most of the case studies. A thing that did bother me was she said her husband supported her with his website business while she wasn’t getting paid. I don’t have this type of support, and I could imagine how many of his students don’t either. Sethi is selling the dream here but doesn’t have an everyday situation to show that 80% of his students could accomplish it.

Leave a Reply

